Grilled Shishito Peppers and Other New Discoveries

IMG_9107During my recent trip to California, I did one of my favorite things, restaurant hopping with my son, Noah.  Being a chef in Sacramento, Ca. and owner of Zoncas he knows many of the restaurant owners and definitely knows where to find the good eats.  Among several places we sampled this time was a delightful vegetarian eatery called, MotherOne of their specialties is small plates so we simply put the menu aside and asked the chef to prepare us a sampling of several we could share.  Our party of five was thrilled as the dishes began arriving.  We had smoked cheddar biscuits smothered in honey butter, harissa potatoes. chili verde with roasted potatoes and my favorite, pan kissed shishito peppers.  Usually a little goes a long way for me when eating within the family of Capsicum but I could not stop eating these little beauties.  Shortly after my return, I began my market search.  Checked all my usual haunts and nothing, so I went online and discovered they are carried at Trader Joes.  The very next day I journeyed over there and eureka!IMG_9095

Shishito peppers are the Japanese cousin to Spain’s Padron peppers.  Delicately sweet and usually mild they are simple to prepare and can be eaten as a snack, appetizer or as a side.  I found this easy recipe for the grill and served them as an accompaniment to grilled shrimp.

IMG_9127

Here is how it went down.

GRILLED SHISHITO PEPPERS                                          Makes 4 servings

Recipe by Christine Gallary

½ lb. shishito peppers, washed and thoroughly dried

1T olive oilIMG_9091

¼ t togarashi (Japanese seasoning containing chili powder)

Coarse sea salt, such as fleur de sel or Maldon

  1. Heat an indoor grill pan or outdoor grill to medium high (about 375-425 degrees). Meanwhile, place peppers in a medium bowl, add the olive oil, and toss to coat; set aside.
  2. When the grill is ready, place peppers on the grill in a single layer, making sure they’re not touching; reserve the bowl they were in. Grill the peppers uncovered, turning them occasionally until they start to char and blister on all sides, about 6-8 minutes.
  3. Return the peppers to the bowl, toss immediately with the togarashi and salt. Serve warm.IMG_9093

Note:  Togarashi can be found in Asian markets or the ethnic section of your grocery or if you wish, you can substitute crushed red pepper, cayenne or chili powder to taste.

IMG_9145

At the restaurant they were simply tossed in olive oil, blistered and dressed with a bit of lemon.  The grill gave them a nice smokiness and then hit with a small amount of heat from the togarashi and a sprinkling of Maldon to enhance their natural the flavor.  Yum!

While addressing new discoveries I thought I would share a few things I recently found and am really liking.  One is this ceramic grill pan.  Able to take extremely high heat, you can place it directly on the hot grill or your stove top.  With its generously high sides, it is great for grilling those little things that tend to roll around or that need to be stirred.  Another advantage is it is dishwasher safe so easy to clean.IMG_9122

A television chef, known for his grilling expertise, recommended the use of “grill toppers” when your grilling anything that may fall through the grates.  They are disposable but if washed can be used multiple times.  I would recommend hand washing as they are a bit fragile.  I used them for the peppers because I wanted the smoke to fully permeate.  On TV he said they were available at any grocery but I did not find them at mine.  I happened to run across them at Walgreen, on sale for $1.09 each in their seasonal aisle.IMG_9117

Last but certainly not least, Bees Wrap.  A sustainable food storage wrap, it serves as an alternative to plastic wrap or bags.  It is made with cloth and beeswax and can be washed and reused.  IMG_9114You create a seal by warming it with your hands and then molding it over a bowl, loaf of bread, half lemon or cheese.  The manufacturer does not recommend using it for meat.  It is available from a variety of sources online or at specialty stores.  Locally I found it at Willy Street Coop.

IMG_9136

These little peppers and other discoveries made me happy and hopefully they will do the same for you.  I love finding things that make my culinary world easier, more sustainable, and especially, more delicious.  Whether your grilling, cooking over a camp fire or firing up the range, this season is the perfect time to keep it fresh, keep it local and keep spreading the love, one dish at a time.  Hope eI provided you with some summertime inspiration to get grilling.  Sending warm weather wishes and love your way,  JeanneIMG_9108

10 responses to “Grilled Shishito Peppers and Other New Discoveries

  1. Elizabeth Palmer

    Okay, I’m intrigued. Do you or does a friend have a greenhouse to start a few plants for next year’s garden? I found a few sources for seeds when I did a quick internet search; here is one: http://www.rareseeds.com/shishito/

    • I also saw the seeds available online. I might just try to start some for next year. Don’t have a greenhouse. Hopefully, they will start to make a show at the farmers market. Currently, at Trader Joes. Try them, I think you will like them. Thanks again, Jeanne

  2. This is perfect timing! Looking for an easy way to do these as an appy for the 4th. Thanks from a fellow Madisonian!

  3. Thanks, Carrie. Let me know how you like them. Always enjoy feedback. Are you buying yours at Trader Joes or do you have another source? Nice to hear from you. Jeanne

  4. Elizabeth Palmer

    Jeanne, I emailed Luna Circle Farm (located in Rio, WI, and are longtime Dane Co Farmers Market vendors) and Trisha Bross emailed back, saying that she does plan to grow them for sale as bedding plants (and for sale as vegetables later in the summer) next year! She says that she has had many requests for them. I buy many of my heirloom tomato plants from Luna Circle Farm; they are so knowledgeable and helpful…Till then, Trader Joes!

  5. Good news! I am excited for next year. Meanwhile a friend of mine in Portage said she has some growing in her garden as we speak. If she passes me any excess I will let you know. Thanks for the info.

  6. All I can say, Queen of Culinary Delights, I have never made something from any of your blogs that did not get an immediate response of ,”OMG, that is so good!” I am so confident in your recipes that I don’t usually practice before making for guests. Unless of course, you mention that it may be a bit spicy for some!!! Yep, that’s me.
    Made the peppers for a get together last eve…a major hit😀

  7. Thank you, Kathy. I was so excited to discover these little peppers and I am really happy to hear what a hit they were for you and your guests. Happy fourth of July to all. Jeanne

  8. Jeanne, I had just as much fun “following you around” (via your links) and thank you for including them. Your son’s restaurant looks amazing! What a way to experience other restaurants through his recommendations, too — so glad you got to do that! I hadn’t heard of shishito peppers before. I love learning from you. xo

  9. Pingback: Mediterranean Tuna Sandwich | Queen Jeanne's Cuisine

Leave a Reply

