Summer Vegetable Frittata

 

IMG_7527The French are known for their delicate rolled omelet but the Italians have taken the concept and made it into a hardy meal full of the unexpected.  The Frittata (frih-TAH-tuh), differs from the French omelet as it has the ingredients mixed with the eggs rather than being folded inside.  It is a blank canvas that can take on a wide variety of ingredients and flavors.  Its versatility makes for a wonderful opportunity to clean out the fridge and use those little bits of this and that that are hanging out. IMG_6814 This weeks creation was inspired by summer’s harvest and farm fresh eggs, the essential ingredient.  I am very fortunate to have access to delicious eggs that I get from a local friend who allows her hens to run free and forage.  They are very happy chickens, I assure you.  The yolks are golden and the taste is second to none.  Since I had an abundance on hand I began my own foraging in the refrigerator for what might make a perfect marriage.  What I found was an ear of grilled sweet corn from last night’s dinner, a bit of fresh spinach. half a red bell pepper and a couple of scallions.  On my counter were some sun-gold and heirloom tomatoes from my garden and fresh herbs to be picked outside.  Add to that some seasonings, a splash of cream, some grated cheese (today I used a combination of gruyere and Parmesan).  I hit pay dirt!   I will take you through the process of this creative adventure.IMG_7510

  1. Select the proper pan.  I feel a good quality non-stick pan is the best choice,  Usually I use a 10-inch but a 12-inch skillet could be used if feeding a crowd.
  2. Crack 6 eggs (for 10-inch pan, more if using larger pan) in a bowl and whisk with a splash of milk or cream.  Set aside.
  3. Cut vegetables (the pepper and scallions) into small dice.  Remove corn from cob.  Sauté with a bit of minced garlic in butter or olive oil or a combination of both until soft.
  4. Add the spinach and tomatoes, reserving a few slices for the top. Cook until wilted.
  5. Add the gruyere cheese and chopped herbs of choice (I used basil and parsley) to the eggs and mix thoroughly.  Pour egg mixture into the pan with the veggies.
  6. Cook over medium heat edging egg away from the sides with a spatula.  Cook until edges and bottom are set.  the top will still be runny.IMG_7513
  7. Add the Parmesan and reserved tomato slices to the top and place under a preheated broiler for 3-4 minutes or until top is set, cheese melted and beginning to brown.
  8. Allow to cool for a couple of minutes and then cut and serve.

This dish can be served hot or cold.  I like to make it and serve warm for breakfast or with a mixed salad for lunch or dinner.  Leftovers can be packed for lunch the following day right out of the refrigerator.

This is not really a recipe but more a technique for a creation made from whatever you have or makes you happy.  Pasta and rice give it more body or meat such as bacon, chicken or ham can be added. Shellfish, such as crab, lobster or shrimp or smoked fish like salmon or trout also add a great depth of flavor.  Simple or fancy, it is a fast and easy meal that is sure to satisfy.  I used to tell my children it was egg pizza with your toppings of choice.

There are endless ideas for frittata online like this one from Alton Brown.  If you don’t have a broiler you can finish it in the oven or flip it in the pan, which is traditional but often messy if you aren’t practiced.

IMG_7519

I can’t think of an easier or more satisfying way to waste not and spread the love all at the same time.  Check out your pantry, fridge and garden and get those creative juices flowing.  Imagine and it can happen.  I send my love and joy of cooking from my kitchen to yours.  Jeanne

15 responses to “Summer Vegetable Frittata

  1. debi.morton@countryspeed.com

    Beautiful as always!!!–Debi @ Driftless Depot

    • Thank you, Debi: The frittata is one of those fall back dishes. You can put just about anything in them. Do you have any good ideas for haricot verts? They have decide to finally take off in my garden. Hope to see you soon. We are going on vacation after Labor Day so perhaps after that. Take care, Jeanne

  2. Patti Bendoritis

    The perfect time of the year for a frittata with all the garden’s bursting with veggies. This sounds very yummy indeed Jeanne. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Thank you, Patty, A wonderful way to use fresh seasonal vegetables! Frittatas are so versatile. They have been a fall back dish for me for many years, Did you cook with your grand daughter this visit? If so, what was on the menu?

  3. Elizabeth Palmer

    Many a time has a frittata saved the day at our house! I always have the basic ingredients on hand. So true that in summer it can be enhanced by garden ingredients. Yours looks especially beautiful and delicious, Jeanne! Thanks for the inspiration.

    • I know what you mean, Elizabeth. Frittata’s have saved me many times as well. They are so versatile. Thanks again for your comments. I always enjoy hearing from you. I have haricot vert’s right now. Any good green bean ideas?

      • Elizabeth Palmer

        I should be more adventurous, but I must admit that I typically just steam them and dress them with butter, sea salt and a squeeze of lemon. Oh, and at least one Salad Nicoise when I have both beans and new potatoes on hand. Simple one-plate summer meal!

  4. Oh yes! Salad Nicoise! I must make that! Thanks for reminding me. That would make for a nice blog post as well. Thanks for the inspiration. It is heating up out there. Stay cool. Jeanne

  5. I agree with you and your followers, the frittata is a wonderful, “Oh no, what’s for dinner?” dinner! It’s quick, easy and a great way to clean out the fridge! Always seems to be a breakfast favorite request when our house is full of family or friends.
    As for your haricots verbs…there is a wonderful recipe in the Bon Appetit magazine (11/2003 issue) for HARICOTS VERTS WITH GOAT CHEESE AND BACON DRESSING. If you can’t find it online, let me know and I’ll send it to you. Delish!!!
    Returning love back to you from South Carolina.
    Kathy

    • Hi Kathy: Thanks again for your comments. I will try to find the haricot verts recipe. It sounds delicious. How was your reunion and visit with my sis. Hope you all had fun. Back to you with the love, Jeanne

  6. It was a blast. Wonderful visit with “the girls”!!! You must not have received my photos. Where should I send them?

  7. Returned from a weekend on the lake with the need for a simple meal. Cleared out the fridge with a frittatta using leftover red potatoes, grilled salmon, aparagus and all the fresh herbs on my deck. Yummmmmm! Would not have thought of it without you! From the first bite, came memories of my grandmother’s Friday lunch frittatas! Thanks, Jeanne.

    • My family never made frittatas so I guess I learned from Nonnie, I remember she often used potato in hers. They were a staple for our busy family when the kids were growing up. I still make them when I have an abundance of eggs or need to clean up the fridge. Glad to reignite your memory. Hope all is well. Sending love, Jeanne

  8. I recently took your cooking class at Orange Tree Imports. I loved the frittata and today tried one of my own. Instead of putting it under the broiler, I tried your other suggestion and flipped it. Lest you think I’m an expert, I used a plate, turned it over, and then slipped it back in the pan. It was deliciously. Thanks.

    • Thank you for your comments, Carol. I am so glad you tried making frittata. It has such versatility. Good for you being brave enough for the flip. Would love to hear what you put in yours. I am glad you enjoyed the class and left with info you can use. Thanks for letting me know. Hope to see you in class again.

Leave a Reply

