Kitchen Renaissance

IMG_7210

Carpenters, electricians, plumbers, oh my!  This has been the week of chaos and dirt.  Workmen in my house from early morning to late afternoon and constant noise.  That’s right, Queen Jeanne is” kitchenless” and surrounded by clutter.  Let me walk you through the process.  First there was months of planning and decision-making.  Who knew there were so many styles of sinks and faucets not to mention all the other things that make a kitchen work.  Then the appliances!  Yikes!  Hope I made good choices.  Then of course the anxiety producing wait for the all of the things ordered, made, cut and delivered.  Finally the call that the destruction will begin and time to clear out all the stuff from the existing kitchen.  That is no easy task as I have forty something cabinets and drawers (not complaining, just saying) shamelessly full of accoutrements to make cooking fun and nearly three hundred cookbooks.  I am thrilled to say my new kitchen has a built-in home for them.  The good thing is I found things I forgot I had and took advantage of this time for a major purge.  Just because it was given to you by your favorite aunt doesn’t make it worthy of keeping if you never use it!  That done, there are still many boxes and stuff all over my house.

Not for long!

Not for long!

This week was all about out with the old and the beginning of the rebirth.  There are disadvantages to an open floor plan.  At the moment, the refrigerator is in my living room, an arrangement my husband says makes getting a beer easier.  Don’t get used to it, my dear.  I am not too fond of those Subway mats they put down but I guess it helps protect.  With the dishwasher gone I am fortunate to have a second sink in my utility/pantry room so I do not have to wash dishes in the bath tub.  For cooking we have both a charcoal and gas grill, slow cooker, and many fine restaurants available to us.  I think given most of my cooking tools are packed, we will be taking advantage of the later more than anything.

Plumbers and electricians work their magic.

Plumbers and electricians work their magic.

Cabinets gone.

Cabinets gone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have been trying to ignore the melee indoors and concentrate on the beauty in my gardens.  The lilacs and lily of the valley are gone and replaced by the glorious iris and my favorite, the peonies.  I surround myself with the beauty of nature which eases my cooking withdrawal and angst about the end result of all the decisions.  My youngest sister remodeled her kitchen a few years ago and she advised me to  “keep my eye on the prize not on the dirt.”  I guess I will focus on what grows in the dirt.

Transformation begins.

Transformation begins.

From the dirt.

From the dirt.

Natures gifts.

Natures gifts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please do not think I am whining about this wonderful project I get to do.  I am really excited and can’t wait to cook my first meal in my new favorite room, the reborn kitchen.  Not sure how many recipes I will share in the next few weeks but I will keep you posted on our progress.  Meanwhile, I need you to keep spreading the love, one dish at a time.  I send you my love and dreams of future dishes from the construction zone.  Jeanne

Calming!

Calming!

 

 

2 responses to “Kitchen Renaissance

  1. Debora Morton

    Jeanne —oooo ahhhhh, and OMG. The former for how lovely and the later because renovations are hard!! Thanks for sharing. Can’t wait until it is done!!!!!!—Debi

    • Oh Debi: I have never seen my house so dirty but I can’t see the point in cleaning until the dust settles. There is so much grime on the floors just from so many people in and out. I plan to have them professionally cleaned afterwards. I am truly trying to keep my eye on the prize. It helps as they install the new stuff because you can gauge the progress. Can’t wait until it is all done! Thanks for your comments. Hope you are having a good summer. Jeanne

Leave a Reply

