Pasta w/ Shrimp, Asparagus & Ramps in Tarragon Cream Sauce

IMG_6809

As the sun shines brightly I welcome the month of May with such jubilation.  Spring, unlike the elusive fall or indolent winter, conjures up feelings of rebirth, new beginnings, revival.  It is the time when our landscape goes from brown to green, when transformation is an undeniable fact and the cycles inherent in the universe are visible everywhere.  One thing that drives this home for me is a nature walk.  A simple stroll through the woods reveals so many wonders and  edible gifts.  As I explore, one of the first things I see is ramps.

IMG_6747IMG_6854

 I know I talked about them in my last post but since they are here so briefly I wanted to give you another recipe where their unique flavor can be enjoyed.  Available this week at our local farmers market or still waiting for you as you forage in the wild, this wild onion or leek is a temporary yet fabulous find.  I wanted to show you how easy they can be spotted this time of year.  Being one of the first greens birthed among the brown decay they present themselves so gloriously.  Bring a shovel and a bucket and there you have it.  Again I want to remind you to be respectful and do not take from small groups.  A well-known naturalist says to apply the 1 in 20 rule.  Do not disturb patches smaller than 5 and only take a few from the larger ones and then move on to another.

IMG_6849IMG_6861

That said, I am equally excited about the other spring ingredients in the featured recipe; asparagus and tarragon.  A perfect complement to each other and the ramps, this has me really fired up.  Tarragon is one of the first herbs to present in the garden and asparagus has just started to pop their little heads above ground so this preparation contains the entire seasonal package.

IMG_6800

Let’s take a minute to discuss tarragon.  A member of the lettuce family it is a herb widely used in classic French cooking.  Best known for its use in Béarnaise sauce and a flavoring for vinegars it is distinguished for its anise like flavor.  A perennial herb it has pointed dark green leaves and is very versatile in its uses.  It serves as an excellent complement to seafood, poultry, eggs, fruit and most vegetables.  I urge you to experiment with it but remember a little goes a long way especially as it matures through the growing season.  Here is how it goes:

PASTA W/ SHRIMP, ASPARAGUS & RAMPS IN TARRAGON CREAM

Recipe by Jeanne Raffetto Tentis                                   Serves 4-6

8 oz. linguine

Extra-virgin olive oil

2T unsalted butter

½ lb. asparagus, trimmed and sliced diagonally into 1 ½ inch pieces (2 c)

1 ½ c ramps, leaves and bulbs, cleaned and thinly sliced (or 1 medium leek)

1 c heavy cream

2T fresh tarragon leaves, chopped

1 ½ t grated lemon zest ( I use a microplane grater)

1T fresh squeezed lemon juice

1t sea salt

1 lb. large shrimp, peeled and deveined

  1. Cook the pasta as directed on the package. Drain, reserve ½ c pasta cooking water.
  2. While the pasta is cooking, drizzle some olive oil, enough to lightly coat the bottom, into a large skillet. Melt the butter and add the asparagus and ramps or leek. Cook until the asparagus is crisp tender and ramps are softened (to avoid sticky pasta, try to time the cooking so it is done just when your sauce is ready)
  3. Stir in the cream, tarragon, lemon zest, lemon juice, and sea salt.
  4. Stir in the shrimp, reduce the heat to low, simmer 2 minutes until shrimp are barely turning pink. Add the pasta and just enough reserved pasta water to loosen the sauce. Toss to coat well and continue tossing until some sauce is absorbed by the noodles.
  5. Serve immediately.

IMG_6796

The brightness of the lemon adds  pop to the garlicky tones of the ramps and pairs perfectly  with the crisp asparagus and freshness of the tarragon.  Well balanced,  it is a seasonal party in your mouth.  Creamy and sensual, this recipe will be on your regular rotation I promise.

IMG_6812

I urge you to go take a walk and explore what edibles nature has to offer.  It has been rainy here so I am hoping for some morels soon.  If a walk doesn’t work for you, a trip to your local farmers market will do.  Whatever your pleasure, I only ask that your keep spreading the love, one seasonal dish at a time.  I am thinking a dandelion salad for my next wild creation.  I embrace the “weeds” with love and gratitude and send that love out into the universe from my kitchen to yours.  Until next time,  Jeanne

 

11 responses to “Pasta w/ Shrimp, Asparagus & Ramps in Tarragon Cream Sauce

  1. Elizabeth Palmer

    We always enjoy ramps while they’re here! One of the earliest Farmers Market offerings. Thanks for sharing recipes the past couple of weeks; must try. Last night we enjoyed them simply sautéed with strip steaks. I also tried a simple recipe for a weeknight supper recently. The link follows: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2011/04/fried-eggs-with-bacon-and-ramps-recipe.html

  2. Thank you, Elizabeth for the recipe and your comments. Ramps and eggs sound like a good combo as does the steak. They are so versatile. Have you tried ramp pesto? I make it just like the basil kind but use walnuts instead of pine nuts. It is a good way to freeze the ramps for later use. Enjoy this Spring weather and keep those comments coming. Thanks. Jeanne

  3. Elizabeth Palmer

    Pesto is a great idea! I have noticed that the infamous garlic mustard is sprouting around my yard; I could stretch the ramps with some of that, and serve it over ricotta gnocchi! Very local, “green” and sustainable! I love talking food, and you always spark my imagination, Jeanne…

    BTW, I am meeting a friend in Spring Green tomorrow; what is the name of the store you visit there?

  4. Hi Elizabeth. Love the idea for the ricotta gnocchi. That is how my grandmother taught me to make it, substituting the ricotta for the traditional potatoes. She usually served it with tomato sauce but I love eating it with pesto. My friend, Deb Morton, owns the Driftless Depot in Spring Green. She is a wonderful person and her market and deli are fabulous. She serves lunch and has some amazing specialty food products. Look it up at http://www.driftlessdepot.com. Please tell Deb I sent you. She will be thrilled to meet you and she loves talking food just like us. The address is 140 S. Winsted St/Hwy 23. Spring Green. Let me know what you think! Have fun, Jeanne

  5. Elizabeth Palmer

    Thanks for the info; I will definitely visit today!

  6. Elizabeth Palmer

    PS: had lunch at the Driftless Depot. Excellent food and ambience. Met Deb and she is delightful. She says hello! Thanks for the tip!

  7. Jeanne, I love your “spreading the love” sentiment — it’s an entirely sustainable way of living! This recipe is so gorgeous, too…

  8. How long will ramps be in season?

    • Not sure where you live but here in Southern WI you may still find them this week but I don’t think you will see them after that. If you live North they are most likely still available. Remember this is one of the first vegetables of spring. For this recipe you can use a regular leek if you can’t find ramps. Thank you for the question. Happy hunting.

Leave a Reply

