Noah’s Crab Cakes—Sharing the Love

Pull up a chair.  Take a taste.  Come join us.  Life is so endlessly delicious.”  Ruth Reichl

IMG_6367

Tomorrow marks the second anniversary of Queen Jeanne’s Cuisine.  That’s right we have made our way sharing Recipes, Rants and Reviews for two whole years.  Wow!  I cannot believe how fast it slipped by.  In addition to celebrating the blog, I will also be celebrating my birthday.  Two monumental, events on the same day.  I hope I can handle the excitement!  Thinking about this, I found myself reaching into the past and reflecting on the people and events that have led me on this journey.  There have been many mentors but I credit my paternal grandmother and her love of cooking as the person who first ignited the spark that fired my passion for preparing and serving good food.  With my thoughts moving in that groove I realize what has fueled me through life is simply the act of sharing.

Grandmother Jenny Raffetto

Grandmother Jenny Raffetto

“Mamaw” shared with me, I shared with my children, they give back to me and their children and ultimately manipulating many twists and turns that led me to sharing with you and you sharing with me.  The circle of life never ceases to amaze.

The recipe I give you today was given to me by my son, Noah (visit his FB page).  He too was bitten by the food bug and makes his living as a chef.  When he gives me a recipe it needs no further introduction as I know it is delicious. He is quick to clarify that this recipe is not one of his originals but came to him through The Kitchen Restaurant in Sacramento, CA, where he was employed for many years.  Now I am passing it on for your enjoyment.

“The most masterful chefs are joyous eaters.”  Unknown

With this is mind, I will say, I love me a good crab cake!  It must be made with love, light on filler, brightly seasoned, loaded with big pieces of sweet crab (I use jumbo lump but you can use claw as well, but the pieces will not be as large) and fried until crispy and golden.  This recipe fills the bill.  Here’s how you do it!

IMG_6349IMG_6353

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOAH’S CRAB CAKES                                                      Makes 12 cakes

Given to me by Noah D. Zonca

1 lb crabmeat

½ lb rock shrimp, raw (or other shrimp, peeled and deveined)

2 eggs

¼ +c mayo

1-2 c panko bread crumbs

2 T soy sauce

1 T Worcestershire sauce

2 T fresh lemon juice

2-3 T whole grain mustard

½ c Italian parsley

In a meat grinder or food processor, grind rock shrimp and parsley.  Mix together all ingredients making judgments re: quantities depending on desired moisture level.  Form into patties and fry in hot oil until golden on both sides.  Do not overcook.  Keep in mind crab is cooked and shrimp requires no more than 2-3 minutes.

NOTE:  The panko serves as a binder.  I start with a cup and then add a bit at a time until I get the consistency right so it will hold together in patties.  I find refrigerating them for an hour or so also helps to keep them formed during frying.

IMG_6356

I usually serve these with a sauce for dipping,  I simply use mayonnaise, fresh lime juice and Sriracha or hot sauce of choice, to taste.  I have no real recipe but if I had to write it down, I would say:

1/2 c mayo, juice of one small lime, start w a squirt of hot sauce and adjust to taste.

I do hope you will love this recipe and pass it on for others to enjoy.

As I reflect on the milestone of the blog’s anniversary and my birthday,  I want to close with a few of my thoughts and inspirations:

Food made with love, nourishes the body and the soul.  It tastes better too!

Communal meals are an essential ritual.

You are what you eat!

Food is at the height of flavor when it is grown with care, harvested at its peak and brought to us quickly and directly from the grower. 

Children are not born picky eaters.

Every school should teach gardening.

Keep your eyes and hearts open and stomachs full.

Life is not about outward appearances but inward significance.

IMG_6402

And finally, I want to say thank you all for your love, support and comments.  It is an honor to have you as part of  my “family” and I sincerely hope you enjoy reading this blog as much as I enjoy writing and sharing my thoughts and recipes with you.  Thank you also for making the world a more loving place, one dish at a time.  Keep spreading it, I know I will.

Love from my kitchen to yours, Jeanne

 

 

 

 

 

14 responses to “Noah’s Crab Cakes—Sharing the Love

  1. Elizabeth Palmer

    Happy, Happy, Jeanne! This looks like a good recipe. I agree with your crab cake philosophy: the simpler, the better. We get our lump crabmeat from Fabian Brothers Seafood; how about you?

    • Thanks, Elizabeth. I too buy from Fabians and have been pleased with the quality. I also really trust The Seafood Center in Madison. They have great products and are passionate about them. Hope you make the recipe, I know we really enjoy it. Thank you for your comments and good wishes. Jeanne

  2. I have made these…..they are pure heaven! Thanks for sharing the love!

  3. When we were out in Maine several years ago, my husband ordered crab cakes every time we went out for dinner. When we returned to WI, I tried this recipe and he said that it’s the best one yet. Thanks Jeanne and Noah.

    • I didn’t know you have made this recipe, Terri. I am glad they were a big hit. When we were in New England Mike ordered lobster for practically every meal. Thanks for your comments and the birthday card.

  4. They look wonderful…a beautiful presentation. Thanks for sharing Noah’s love with us.

    • Thanks, Kathy. If you like crab cakes as I do, this is a fabulous recipe. Wishing you and your family a happy Easter. What for dinner? Thank you for your comments and good wishes. Jeanne

  5. Congratulations on your blog anniversary and Happy Birthday, Jeanne! The story and photo of your Grandmother made my heart smile, and the quotes and your closing thoughts were food for thought to “chew on” & enjoy again and again. I’m also grateful your son shared this crab cake recipe — I brake for crab cakes! 🙂 — and your sauce sounds perfect with them. (I’m also thinking it’d go well with fried green beans or fresh asparagus spears!) Sharing is definitely a lovely legacy to pass along. Again, congrats!

    • Thank you, Kim. I love that you “brake for crab cakes.” I really love them as well and I know you will enjoy this recipe. My grandmother was a huge influence on me in the kitchen so I have to pay homage. That sauce is really versatile. Good on fish tacos, veggies, whatever. You can make it spicy or tart or however you like it. I always write things down when I think of them or read them somewhere so I thought sharing my thoughts and favorite quotes would be good on the celebration of these two events, So happy the blog has served to bring us together so we can share. Thank you again for all your thoughts and comments. Jeanne

      • Jeanne, Russ & I once delivered a load in Maryland and the first thing I did was to ask a “local” where the best crab cakes could be found (after I waxed on about them for untold minutes…) The fellow got a sheepish grin and said: “Um… I’m a Maryland native and I don’t particularly care for crab cakes.” (!) I laughed and replied, “That’s okay, I’m from Minnesota and I don’t like lutefisk.” 😉 Then he pointed me toward a nearby cafe and I was in crab cake heaven! Can’t wait to try these…

      • I can’t relate to the crab cake comment but your response is hilarious! Thanks for sharing the story.

  6. Pingback: Random Playfulness | a little lunch

  7. Pingback: Baked “Crab Stuffed” Fillet of Sole | Queen Jeanne's Cuisine

Leave a Reply

