My Thanksgiving Table

IMG_5596

Today marks the close of Thanksgiving weekend and after we have had the big feast, eaten leftovers for several days, made stock with the turkey carcass, entertained family and friends, it is time to take a break and reflect on all that was good.  I love this holiday as it centers around food, gratitude, sharing and no gift giving other than those tasty dishes made from the heart.  I know our family has much to be grateful for and I pray for those who find themselves in want and in despair.  When asked what I am I grateful for, this is my response:

For family/friends when others are lonely

For food while others go hungry

For hope when others feel hopeless

For health while others have pain

For freedom when others are oppressed

Here is a photo glimpse of some our weekend offerings.

The star of the show.  Always fresh, never frozen.  Brining keeps it moist and succulent.

The star of the show. Always fresh, never frozen. Brining keeps it moist and succulent.

Supporting cast.  The aromatics that bring the love and makes everything shine.

Supporting cast. The aromatics that bring the love and makes everything shine.

I often want to deviate from the traditional, but am out-voted.  We must have the turkey!

Salad "Sundaes"-Mixed greens, shredded carrots, drizzled with green goddess dressing and topped with a cherry tomato and Parmesan straw.

Salad “Sundaes”-Mixed greens, shredded carrots, drizzled with green goddess dressing and topped with a cherry tomato and Parmesan straws.

Cranberry salsa to accompany the turkey or with chips as an appetizer.  Always a hit.

Cranberry salsa to accompany the turkey or with chips as an appetizer. Always a hit.

Desserts, last but not least.  Cranberry Upside Down Cake, made by Henry, age 8.  Custard pie made by Charlie, age 11. Peanut butter custard pie, made by daughter Megan.

Desserts, last but not least. Cranberry Upside Down Cake, made by Henry, age 8. Custard pie made by Charlie, age 11. Peanut butter custard pie, made by daughter Megan.

As you can see we celebrated family and friends with a huge bounty and lots of love.  I want to express my gratitude for all of my readers and followers.  I appreciate all of your comments and suggestions.  Hopefully you had an opportunity to share the holiday with those you hold most dear.  You know I love it when you spread the love, one dish at a time.

7 responses to “My Thanksgiving Table

  1. What a wonderful meal. I hope you had a most excellent Thanksgivings. .

  2. Thank you, Lea. I hope you and your beautiful family had a wonderful Thanksgiving as well. I give thanks for all of you being such wonderful stewards of the land. Hope to get out there before too long.

  3. Who carved your turkey? Was it carved at the table?

    • Kathy, Usually I carve the turkey. It is presented whole at the table and then taken to be carved at the board in the kitchen and returned in pieces on a platter. Maybe not as dramatic but less messy and more efficient overall. Hope you had a wonderful holiday. Did you spend it with family?

  4. We had a fresh turkey this year too that my dad bought from the Amish – it was running around on Monday 🙂 Everything looks beautiful but I especially love the salad sundaes!

    • Hey Girl: That sounds very exciting for everyone except the turkey, that is. Glad you had a good holiday. The salad sundaes were fun and got peoples attention as a starter. Now Christmas.

  5. That’s not how your Dad did it!!! I was always so impressed with your Dad carving at the table, I now have my husband do the same.
    Yes, we went back to PA to spend the day with Bob’s 97 year old father then to NJ to visit two daughters and families.

Leave a Reply

