Mushroom Soup w/ Bacon

IMG_5442

When things come together in perfect harmony you have a winning combination.  Today it is fine ingredients, great tools and the cooking genius of my “girlfriend,” Anne Burrell.  That’s right, friends, I am so very excited to say my girl has returned with her second cookbook, Own Your Kitchen, Recipes to Inspire and Empower. IMG_5397

Having read it cover to cover, I assure you it will not disappoint.  Owning your kitchen is about being in charge when you cook, understanding how flavors work together, how to improvise with ingredients you have on hand, and, above all, how to feel confident and stress-free when making meals.  In this book, Anne gets you in that groove by sharing the recipes she makes when she is relaxed and cooking at home.  You are going to love how doable these dishes are, things you would actually make at home.  Recipes that will work every time and, as always, Anne is there to guide, reminding you to set up, taste, season, check, and be patient.  She is an accomplished chef and culinary instructor and has picked up many tricks and kitchen secrets that she freely shares.  When I see Anne cook on television or read her recipes I always say, “Anne makes food I want to eat.”  Don’t allow the crazy hair and quirky personality fool you, this girl can cook!  Take advantage of her wealth of knowledge and experience and add this book to your collection.  I ordered it immediately after its release and I am on my way to trying every recipe. IMG_5396

I thought I had written her list of 10 ways to own your kitchen because the things she is super passionate about are the things I address in my cooking classes all the time.  Hey, soul sister!!

Yesterday it was rainy and damp so I decided to make her mushroom soup.  Not a big fan of heavy creams soups, Anne has lightened it up by using potato as a thickener and just a shot of cream.  She added a bit of bacon which gives it a smokiness that pairs beautifully with the earthiness of the mushrooms.

Fine Ingredients

Fine Ingredients

Here is how it goes down.

 

 

 

 

IMG_5413

 

 

 

 

 

MUSHROOM SOUP w/ BACON                                                serves 4

Recipe by Anne Burrell

5 slices of bacon, cut into lardons

Extra virgin olive oil

2 lbs. mixed mushrooms (shitake, cremini and oyster), stemmed and sliced

Kosher salt

1 onion, cut into ¼-inch dice

1 clove garlic, smashed and finely chopped

1 large potato, peeled and cut into 1-inch dice

½ c dry sherry

1 quart of chicken or veggie stock

½ c heavy cream

½ bunch of fresh Italian parsley, leaves finely chopped

  1. Toss the bacon into a large wide pot, add a drizzle of olive oil, and bring the pan to medium heat.  Cook the bacon until it is brown and crispy and has given off a lot of fat.  Transfer the bacon to a paper towel to drain.
  2. Crank up the heat to high and add the mushrooms, season with salt and stir.  If the mushrooms soak up all the fat, add a couple more drops of olive oil.  Cook the mushrooms until they become soft and release their juices, 5-6 minutes.  Remove the mushrooms and reserve.
  3. Toss the onion into the pot and season with salt.  Reduce heat to medium.  Add a few drops of olive oil, if needed.  Cook the onion until soft and aromatic, 8-10 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook until aromatic, 1-2 minutes.
  4. Return two-thirds of the mushrooms to the pot along with the diced potato.
  5. Add the sherry and cook until it has evaporated by half.  Add the stock, bring to boil, reduce to simmer (RTB, RTS), and cook for 30 minutes.  Add the cream and simmer for 10 minutes more.
  6. Using a blender or an immersion blender, puree the soup until smooth.  Taste and make sure it is delicious.
  7. Add the reserved mushrooms and half the bacon.  Serve immediately, garnished with remaining bacon and chopped parsley.

She calls it her Magic Mushroom Soup and I can see why.  The layers of flavor come together as magic in your mouth as they delight your senses and make you happy to be alive and eating great food.  I served it with crusty bread and a salad of baby spinach dressed with a light Dijon vinaigrette.  Delizioso!  I can’t wait to make it, or better yet, eat it, again!

The Right Tools Make Cooking More Fun!

The Right Tools Make Cooking More Fun!

Hope I have inspired you to check out this new book and start spreading the love, one Anne Burrell recipe at a time.  Be a rock star at the stove!  Until next time, I am making love in my kitchen, are you?

 

 

 

17 responses to “Mushroom Soup w/ Bacon

  1. I also love the idea of Marsala wine in the mushroom soup in place of the sherry. Love your blog and Anne

  2. Thanks for your comments, Jill. So happy you like the blog and yes! Anne is so great. Hope you check out her new book. You will love the recipes and her instruction. I have used Marsala in mushroom soups before and found it to be so delicious. Thanks again and stay tuned for more. Remember to spread the word to your friends. Sending love.

  3. Our friends arrived from PA shortly after I finished reading your blog. Their car was loaded with lots of PA goodies including mushrooms from the Mushroom Capitol of the World. Guess what we are making tomorrow??? I know I will enjoy the soup as much as I enjoy your blog. Keep sharing your love.

    • Thank you Kathy for the kind words and comments. I was born and raised in PA. and lived there until I moved to California after college (Penn State). I am just a bit homesick reading about your friends and the mushrooms. I am thrilled that you are making the soup. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Let me know how you like it. It is great to hear you are sharing the love.

  4. Thanks for your review of Anne’s new cookbook. I admire her kitchen savvy, too, and her mushroom soup sounds marvelous. Just put up homemade chicken stock yesterday; mushrooms are on my grocery list! And yes, the right tools make cooking even more pleasurable… I’m going to make this in my mushroom colored Le Creuset for dinner tonight.

    • Thank you, Kim. I have the vision of your soup in that beautiful Le Creuset. Mushroom in mushroom. Love it! I also just made a large batch of chicken stock. It is so great to have on hand. Keep reading, keep the comments coming and keep spreading the love. Let me know how it turns out.

  5. I am so excited. I know it will make you smile. Can’t wait to hear your reactions. Visited your lovely blog today. You have another loyal follower. Thanks.

  6. The soup making was a joint effort with our friends from PA. The women chopped the mushrooms while the guys drank beer and yelled at the Steelers on the TV!!! Oh my, the soup was soooo good. Yes, My dear, I know you are from PA…I lived across the street from your homestead!!!

    • Kathy: I am so sorry. I wasn’t putting your married name together in my head. Forgive me please. So glad you loved the soup. Making it with friends and the Steelers in the background makes it even more special. Do you know what type of mushrooms your friends brought? Happy to know you are spreading the love.

  7. Pingback: A Day In The Life (Mushroom Soup with Bacon) | a little lunch

  8. We used some shiitake and mostly baby bella mushrooms to make the soup. Today we made apple pies with PA apples our friends brought with them. We have been spreading lots of love this week! My hubby will be sad to see them go back to PA. He has been eating well for the past several days!!!
    They also brought mince meat that I froze until the holidays. Do you remember my Mother making homemade mince meat? Do you make mince meat?

    • Your Mom knew how to spread the love. I have to admit, I have never made mince meat. I remember your Mom cooking in the school cafeteria and giving us the welcomed rides to school so we didn’t have to take the bus. God bless her. Glad you are cooking and having fun. So nice to be in touch. Keep spreading it.

  9. Thanks. She was a special lady as was your Mom. I was fortunate to have many friends with exceptional Moms that helped shape my life. To this day I do certain things because that’s the way Mrs Raffetto, Mrs DelBaggio, Mrs Ferner, Mrs McNaul, etc, etc did it. And, with the love you are sharing with your readers, you are most definitely keeping your Mom’s spirit in all our hearts. Bless you.

    • Thanks, Kathy. We were fortunate with our Moms for sure. I am off tomorrow to see my daughter and granddaughter for a long weekend. Can’t wait. I always hope I do my Mom proud.

  10. Elizabeth Palmer

    This soup generated lots of comments, and I now know why. I made it last night; it was hearty and comforting. I don’t know why it never occurred to me to use potato as a stand-in for cream in a “cream” soup before, but it worked beautifully. I opted to make it sans bacon this time, and it was still great…

    • Hi Elizabeth. This soup has generated many remarks. It is a lovely recipe for sure and the addition of the potato lightens it up considerably. Thanks, Anne Burrell! Making it w/out bacon really highlights the earthiness of the mushrooms. If you want the smokiness w/out the meat, try a little smoked paprika or chipotle. Recipes are just a guideline, you know. Thanks for your comments and thanks for spreading the love,

Leave a Reply

