New Discoveries & Kindred Spirits

This is a very exciting post for several reasons.  First it is #100 since I began my blog In April 2012.  I have 195 subscribers for which I thank my friends, family and loyal readers.  It is just shy of the goal I set for 200, but it is it a lofty effort and I hope you will all continue to spread the word about Queen Jeanne’s Cuisine.  I am on a mission to support small family farms while bringing delicious recipes and food talk highlighting seasonal and local ingredients.  As you know, I love healthy eating but we must start with the finest ingredients to get that mouth-watering dish.  OK, enough about me.  I am here today to share a story about a kindred spirit and her wonderful retail establishment that I recently discovered.

Her name is Debora Morton and her fabulous must see Organic Market & Deli is Driftless Depot located in Spring Green, WI.  I first read about this place in a local newspaper who featured Deb and her place in a wonderful spread last Summer.  When I read it, I knew I had to meet her and experience first hand what they were talking about.  I was not disappointed.  I not only got to have a first class shopping and eating adventure, I also met a woman who is truly a kindred spirit and hopefully a lifelong contact and friend.  It turns out our husbands  even have the same name and we drive the exact same car, make and color. No joke.  We were definitely destined  to cross paths.

I set out with my buddy and cooking assistant, Cathy, on a beautiful summer day in search of this place.  I had contacted Deb first via email to introduce myself and ask if it would be okay to take photographs for my blog.  After checking me out she wrote the most welcoming note saying she couldn’t wait as she could tell we were in sync regarding our attitudes and philosophies about good food.  We are in fact, soul sisters.  Here is how it went down.  We pulled up to this delightful cheery place and the signs and entry said it all.

IMG_4851

IMG_4840IMG_4857IMG_4836Mindfully selected, seasonal choices, great local finds as well as specialty foods from around the globe is what you will find here.  The operative word being mindful.  Everything from the products to the décor scream thoughtfulness.  This is not just a grouping of things but is rather a collection where everything in it has its purpose and place.  To quote Deb, “Our food lover’s store offers conscientiously sourced, quality, organic, local & global food, drink, and related specialties for all occasions.”

We were greeted at the entry with shelves of books, many of which I owned and admired.  IMG_4828Next we saw the delightful indoor dining area (she also has patio dining).  It was intimate with artful decorations including baskets made by a local artist and other items of interest.   I must add that we later enjoyed a lunch of sandwiches so memorable we are still talking about them.  For real!IMG_4832

Then came the most delightful part of the experience, meeting Debora.  She is a warm and passionate woman whose need to have access to good food in her rural environment led her to open this market/deli and fill it with beautiful food items and things that makes her happy.  How fortunate for her community that she supports local growers (of which she and her husband are included) and producers but community members now have easy access to these items as well. IMG_4780

She began with her story and a tour of her inventory much of which came with its own story.  You could feel the enthusiasm radiate from her and she spoke of each hand selected item.  We followed her into the kitchen where she, in the style of a true artist, prepares her lunch orders and food for a catering event scheduled for the next day.  Her food is like a giant hug just when you need it most.  As she moves through her tasks, she takes time to talk further.  It turns out she is also a writer.  She writes articles for a publication, Nature’s Pathways.  Her first article, published July 2013,  was titled In Praise of Eggs, which I found to be ironic since my very first blog  post was  also about eggs,  What Came First?,  published April 14, 2012.  Both spoke to the importance of freshness as well as the health benefits offering cooking tips and a recipe.  Again like minds.  From our love for eggs, olive oil to the use of real butter, the story goes on.  Let’s take a little tour.

IMG_4796IMG_4783

IMG_4793IMG_4798This is just a snapshot into this world of good food and gracious hospitality.  I hope it tempts your taste buds and gives you that push to venture out for a unique and joyous experience.  If you live in the area, you can stop by to shop or for lunch.  They also feature Friday night trout dinners (reservation only) which I have yet to partake but a local business owner sang its praises so I am sure it will not disappoint.  We walked away with our shopping bags full of tantalizing goodies and thoughts of all our future food creations.  We will be back!

Thanks again, Debora,  for a lovely day and for your contribution to good eating.  And thanks again to all of my followers and subscribers who have supported me along my journey.  Remember to spread the love, one dish at a time.  Sending you my love.IMG_4823

6 responses to “New Discoveries & Kindred Spirits

  1. Congratulations on your 100th blog and what a way to celebrate with your adventure at Driftless Depot! I continue to count on your for your wonderful recipes and good food sources. Thanks, Queen Jeanne.

  2. Thank you for so many reasons to smile. Publishing your 100th post is a wonderful accomplishment — congratulations! Your story about meeting a kindred spirit (who drives the same car and likes the same foods) was heartwarming. And, “food that feels like a hug” is the best recommendation I’ve heard in awhile!

  3. What a sweet entry. Your enthusiasm and generosity of spirit are always uplifting. I like the way you end. My sister Patty’s mottos is: “I want to cover the world in quilts, one baby at a time.” And then she makes one for every singe baby she hears about. She just made one for my friend Charlotte’s daughter’s baby. (Finn Joseph born Aug 22.) Love the expressions of our passions. Charlotte, by the way wants to subscribe to the blog but said she couldn’t figure out how to do it. I will help her. You’ll get to your goal very soon I think.
    Love you! Miss you!

  4. Thank you, Rebecca, for your continued support. FYI I exceeded my goal of 200 subscribers just shortly after this post. I now have 201. I appreciate all of your efforts and comments. I love the story of your sister and the quilts. She is so adorable as are you. Again, my sincere gratitude for your faithful following, comments and continued love over all of these years. Back to you many fold.

Leave a Reply

