Review of 2012—–Happy New Year!

I would like to wish you all a wonderful year in 2013.  I pray it is full of joy, blessings and peace with little strife and sorrow.  I say good-bye to last year with mixed feelings.  It brought some unwanted health issues for me and my husband  to which we are happy to bid adieu, but I can not overlook some of the highlights.  For one, our family was blessed in May with a new addition.  A baby is so sweet and innocent they can’t help but bring a smile to your face and joy to your heart.  Our 5-year old started kindergarten with so much enthusiasm that has yet to waiver.  He has a thirst for learning and cannot wait to share the happenings of his days.  All children deserve such a positive beginning to the school experience.  We give thanks that all of  our family is loved, thriving, living in warm houses, with plenty of good food on their tables, employment and good health.  One cannot ask for much more.  I wish this for all the children and families throughout the world.  In spite of life’s setbacks, we are blessed.

Another positive for 2012 is starting this blog.  I have you to thank for its success and hope it has brought some joy and enlightenment to your lives.  Since April 14th, Queen Jeanne’s Cuisine has had 3200 views from people in 40 countries.  I have logged 67 posts and 441 photos.  Most of all it has brought me joy and I have learned so much and had the privilege of hearing from so many people through your comments and questions.  Again I thank you from the bottom of my heart.  IMG_3274

Can’t leave without a bit of cooking.  My last post of 2012 was Three Layered Cornbread so I wanted to take a moment and address, what to do with leftovers, that is if there are any.  Since we have a small household leftovers are something that occur frequently here.  Not wanting to waste, I am always thinking of new creations from yesterday’s meals (I plan to write more about this coming soon).  This morning as I glanced at the remnants of cornbread, I had the idea to make it into French toast.  Who doesn’t love it, right?  Since this is not crumbly like a lot of cornbread, that made it easy.  It went down like this.  I cut the bread into squares and then halved them horizontally.  I beat two eggs together with a splash of cream (milk would do).  I dipped the bread into the egg mixture and allowed it to absorb.  Meanwhile I melted some butter in a skillet with a bit of olive oil.  The soaked bread went into the skillet and was browned on both sides. IMG_3269 Transferred to a plate it received a pat of butter and drizzle of pure maple syrup.  YUM!  Easy and delicious, the cornbread held up well and the tanginess of the buttermilk added a new dimension to the classic.  Can’t lose, right?  Hope you try it.  It might be worth making the cornbread just to have it for French toast.

You never know what is going to move people.  I found it interesting that the post that resulted in the busiest day for my blog this past year was “Embrace the Delightful Dandelion.”  Who knew a weed would evoke such interest?  Life is unpredictable as are we and the upcoming new year.  I send you my love and again my appreciation for all you have given me.  Keep it coming!  Best wishes for a year of peace and tranquility.  Live large, love big and eat good food! 

IMG_3272

Blessings and delightful dishes from my kitchen to yours,  Queen Jeanne

 

6 responses to “Review of 2012—–Happy New Year!

  1. Can’t wait to try the French toast. Sincere thanks for the great blog….enjoy the recipes, the writing, and you! Wishing you love, and good health in the New Year, and more.

    • Thank you, Cathy, for all your comments and support throughout the year. Try the French toast and let me know what you think. I loved it! Wishing you and your family a wonderful New Year! Queen Jeanne

  2. When I logged in to today’s post all I saw (at first) was the “french toast!” I swear I could have smelled the aroma & taste the luscious mix of butter and syrup!! So, I will be making the cornbread this weekend & definitely saving portions to make the ‘toast.’

    Happy, Happy New Year to you and T ~ thank you so much for sharing your knowledge & inspiring me to reach grander, higher, wider depths to my cooking skills.

  3. My sister, Dawn Foster just shared your page with me. I can’t wait to get home from work tonight so I can read everything and try some of the great recipes. I too am very curious to try the cornbread french toast. It looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

