Irish Oatmeal

IMG_3166Another snow day here in the midwest (yes, this really is Queen Jeanne’s castle, cozy, huh?).  We received about 18 inches of the white stuff  yesterday so today we shovel and plow our way out.  Some people are thinking white Christmas but me, I’m thinking stick-to-your-ribs goodness to jump-start this cold wintry day ahead.  That’s right, Irish oatmeal!  What is it, you ask?  Irish oatmeal, Scotch oats or steel-cut oats are all different names for the same thing, groats that have been cut into 2-3 pieces and not rolled.  They take about 30 minutes to cook and have a decidedly chewy texture.  They are high in vitamin B1 and contain a good amount of vitamins B2 and E.  They are also particularly high in soluble fiber.  We love them and find them very satisfying especially on these very chilly mornings.IMG_3132

I know you are thinking, 30 minutes to cook?  Well, believe me, it is worth every minute.  Although I do not own one, I have my notice into Santa that I would like to have the Zojirushi Micom Rice Cooker show up under my tree this year.  It is very smart and has a multitude of settings including one for porridge that you can program the night before and have it ready when you wake up.  Cool!  I have been a very good girl so I think my chances are good.

IMG_3127  You can top your oats anyway you please but my favorite is a spoonful of brown sugar or honey and a pat of Irish butter.  Add a bit of milk and you have breakfast.  Try it soon.  Believe me, it is worth the time investment, or perhaps it is not too late to get that request into Santa!  Have you been naughty or nice?

6 responses to “Irish Oatmeal

  1. I like the ound of this. We may have to try it. Our current favorite is Bob’s Red Mill, Scottish Oatmeal, which only takes 10 minutes. We also like to add dried cherries: http://www.bobsredmill.com/scottish-oatmeal.html

  2. I like the sound of this. We may have to try it. Our current favorite is Bob’s Red Mill, Scottish Oatmeal, which only takes 10 minutes. We also like to add dried cherries: http://www.bobsredmill.com/scottish-oatmeal.html

  3. My hell on earth would include eating oatmeal, but I must admit that yours looks delicious. Still, can’t do it. Santa knows you California girls are a little naughty, so don’t get your hopes up for the rice cooker. Look for sales after the holidays. The house looks fab covered in snow. When are you throwing the Austin Powers bash? Think of the recipes!!! Dr. Evil’s Million Dollar Ribs…Austin’s signature cocktail. You go girl!

  4. Mmmmmmm I don’t have any of these but I do have oatmeal and I think I will have some for breakfast now! Merry Christmas Jeanne!

  5. Hoping your holidays are grand. I must have been good as Santa showed up Saturday with the Rice Cooker I was hoping for. Funny how much he looked liked the Fed Ex guy. Blessings for the new year. Love, QJ

  6. Unlike my pal, Terri, I LOVE oatmeal and remember my dad making if for me and my 5 younger brothers and sisters on a snowy school morning! Stick-to-ribs food, as he would say. The rice cooker sounds interesting …. and the idea of using it for oatmeal. Cool! Also, I like the idea of getting it ready the night before so the ‘meal is piping hot in the morning ~ gosh, Jeanne, you have the best ideas!

Leave a Reply

