Thanksgiving Message

I am sure you do not have trouble believing that “Thanksgiving” is my favorite holiday.  I like it in part because I equate food and feeding people with love and also because there is nothing else attached to it other than gratitude for our many blessings.  Somehow that always warms my heart.  I admit to driving myself crazy at times in my quest for the perfect meal yet every year I vow to relax and just take it as it comes.  This is not easy for me but I am getting better.  I realize what you serve is not as important as who you serve and doing it with an open heart.  This principle applies to all meals not just Thanksgiving but the pressure to perform is always a bit more pronounced on the holiday devoted to food.  This year let’s all be kind to ourselves and others.

I am especially grateful this year as I put time aside to spend with my loved ones.  Health issues have humbled me in recent months and kept me from traveling as often as I would like.   I decided to put all things on hold for a couple of weeks, like blog posts, culinary classes, etc., so I can give my full attention to those I hold closely in my heart but see not often enough.

I want to wish you and yours a wonderful Thanksgiving.  I hope you will take time before your meal to reflect on the abundance and freedom you enjoy and thank the hands that grew your food and those that prepared your feast.  I will share a little prayer I like to say on Thanksgiving:

For food when others are hungry,

For comfort when others walk in fear,

For family and friends when others walk alone,

I give thanks for my many blessings, today and everyday.

I will be back writing and sharing my experiences after the first of December.  I look forward to hearing from you and hope you will share your stories.  Meanwhile,

LIVE BIG, LOVE WELL AND EAT HEARTY!  MAY ALL YOUR DAYS BE BLESSED.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING from  QUEEN JEANNE!!

 

3 responses to “Thanksgiving Message

  1. The best holiday ever….family, friends, and good food. Enjoy your family time. I am so grateful for so many things, one being finding you and developing such a warm, loving, growing friendship. Hugs and love to you and your whole family!! So happy you are all together this holiday.

  2. Thank U Jeanne, wishing U and ur family a blessed thanksgiving too wishing good health too take care, love & God Bless

    ________________________________

  3. Jeannie Girl,
    WHAT YOU SAID! I hope you are well and getting back into the groove. Can’t wait to hear your California tales. I played “mom” and hosted our family’s Thanksgiving feast. There’s nothing better than being surrounded by the people you love…and their bulldogs – even when they’re terrorizing the house. My secret to the perfect feast??? Let Uncle Jim make the gravy! I’ll rent him out.

Leave a Reply

